Friday, December 15, 2006

UOW "Commonwealth University of the Year" 2006

Wollongong triumphs as inaugural Commonwealth University of the Year
Nov 16, 2006

The University of Wollongong (UOW) has won the Times Higher Education Supplement (THES) inaugural award as "Commonwealth University of the Year".

The announcement was made at a glittering awards night ceremony held in London. UOW was the only short-listed Australian university.

The "Commonwealth University of Year" award 2006 was being run for the first time in liaison with the Association of Commonwealth Universities.

The award, open to all higher education institutions in the Commonwealth excluding those from the UK, was focused on how universities achieved community engagement. There were 18 THES awards in total, with the "Commonwealth University of the Year" award being the only one open to universities outside of the UK.

UOW's Manager of Community and Partnerships, Ms Monique Harper-Richardson, was in London representing the University at the awards ceremony.

The Vice-Chancellor of the University of Wollongong, Professor Gerard Sutton, said the announcement was "fantastic news" and clear recognition of the University's remarkable community engagement achievements, particularly its contribution to regional development.
"It's tremendous to be recognised for our commitment to a mutually beneficial relationship valued by the University and the community," Professor Sutton said.

The Vice-Chancellor stressed that the award was not just recognition for the University but for the city and region.

"Our whole community should be congratulated," Professor Sutton.